In the race dedicated to Indurain the Eolo-Kometa makes Wackermann debut

Restarts from Spain the competitive activity of Eolo-Comet, who in March mainly attended the races on the Italian calendar and will return to our country later, in anticipation of the Giro. Saturday 3 April the riders in the blue jersey will take part in the G. P. Miguel Indurain, test dedicated to the Navarro champion scheduled with start and finish in Estella / Lizarra.

The team directed by Ivan Basso has issued the calls for “l’Indurain” and in the list of riders of the Eolo-Kometa there is also Luca Wackermann, the 29-year-old sprinter from Rho (who often won in the youth categories also in the Varese area) named after his seasonal debut. Wackermann – 4 wins among the pro two of which last year with the Vini Zabù jersey – he does not compete from the fourth stage of the Giro d’Italia 2020 (October 6) when he was the victim of an unusual and rather absurd accident. After the arrival of Villafranca Tirrena he was in fact hit by one metal barrier raised by a helicopter lowered too far to the ground. The aftermath of that accident forced the Rhodes sprinter to stay out for a long time: «Today I am fully recovered and I can’t wait to run – he explains – I’m in good shape. The team will do everything for this race: we are an excellent group ». Photo A. Madrona / Eolo-Kometa

Together with Wackermann, in the Indurain GP, ​​there will be two other Italians, Vincenzo Albanese and Francesco Gavazzi, in addition to the Spaniards Arturo Grávalos and Diego Pablo Sevilla to Portuguese Daniel Viegas. Even the Navarra race – just over 200 kilometers – has numerous squadrons at the start: they are well 9 the formations of the World Tour registered in addition to all the Spanish and some French Professionals. The route is quite lively with many tears and climbs that will probably often break the main group.

In 21 editions the Indurain race counts just two Italian victories but one of these is by Varese: in 1999 a very young Stefano Garzelli (already second in ’98) if imposes on the Spanish Extebarria and on Davide Rebellin. In 2007 Rinaldo Nocentini won instead on the Cigar Rodriguez and onEmbattled Valverde.

After the Spanish race, the Eolo-Kometa (which has a group of riders retiring in the Sierra Nevada: among them also Eddy Ravasi) will compete in a stage race in Turkey, the Presidential Cycling Tour from 11 to 18 April. Then the team will come together to prepare the Tour of the Alps (the former Giro del Trentino) and from there it will sail towards the Tour of Italy.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV Playoff shot for Maury’s Com Cavi Tuscania, Federico Rossatti is back
NEXT Challenger Marbella and Oeiras: LIVE the results with the details of the Quarter Finals. 4 blues on the field (LIVEVIDEO)