Italy in the 2021 Davis Cup: schedule, scoreboard and tickets

The 2021 Davis Cup will be played from 25 November to 5 December. Italy is included in the E. Sinner Group and teammates in Turin will challenge the United States and Colombia.

After the one-year hiatus due to the pandemic, the Davis Cup is back, the world highest for the national team at the men’s tennis level. Davis, which is also the oldest team competition in the world, this year will also take place in Italy, exactly in Turin where the Azzurri will compete in Group E with the United States and Colombia. Captain Filippo Volandri has lost Berrettini, replaced by Bolelli, but has Sinner, Sonego, Fognini and Musetti. The Davis Cup takes place between 25 November and 8 December, on 18 national teams. Davis will also play in Madrid and Innsbruck. Two years ago Spain won, among the favorites with Serbia and Russia.

The squad of Italy for the Davis Cup: Berrettini absent

After so many years, Italy presents itself with a high-level team for the Davis Cup. Unfortunately, however, the Azzurri will not be able to field the two top ten. Because Matteo Berrettini gave up after the injury he suffered in the ATP Finals. Jannik Sinner will be the blue number 1. Lorenzo Sonego and Fabio Fognini, who will certainly have the opportunity to play doubles, will share the place of second singles player. In the team also Lorenzo Musetti and the doubler Simone Bolelli, who took the place of Berrettini.

The 2021 Davis Cup groups: Italy in Group E

The 18 nations participating in the Davis Cup are divided into six groups. Italy is included in Group E and will face the United States and Colombia. The favorite teams to win the competition are Russia, with Medvedev and Rublev, and Serbia with number 1 ATP Djokovic. Absent Zverev, who in protest does not want to play Davis with this formula. Among the favorites, of course, also Spain, reigning champion, but without Nadal, and Italy.

  • Group A: Spain, Russia, Ecuador
  • Group B: Canada, Kazakhstan, Sweden
  • Group C: France, United Kingdom, Czech Republic
  • Group D: Croatia, Australia, Hungary
  • Group E: Italy, United States, Colombia
  • Group F: Serbia, Germany, Austria

The calendar of matches of Italy in the Davis Cup: when to play

The 2021 Davis Cup will be played from 25 November to 5 December. For the moment, only the dates of the group stage matches are known. Italy will play in Turin against the United States and Colombia, clearly the weakest formation. The first challenge will be with the Americans in which presumably the fate of the Azzurri will be decided, who by winning would hypothesize the quarter-finals.

  • Friday 26 November – Italy-United States, Turin 4 pm.
  • Saturday 27 November – Colombia-Italy, Turin at 4 pm.

How to buy tickets for Italy matches in Turin

It will be possible to buy on the official website of the competition the tickets for the matches of Italy, which in Turin will first challenge the United States and then Colombia. There aren’t very many left for Italy-United States and Italy-Colombia.

Davis Cup 2021, the complete program and the scoreboard

An ultra-centennial competition, the Davis Cup has completely changed its formula for two years, which purists do not like. Everything is condensed into about ten days in which eighteen national teams play against each other in six groups. It starts on Thursday 25 November and ends on Sunday 5 December. The matches will be held in Madrid, Innsbruck and Turin, which will also host quarter-final matches. The matches of the days will be played from 25 to 27 November, while the single elimination matches will begin on Monday 29.

  • 25-27 November: Group stage
  • November 29-December 2: Quarter-finals
  • 3-4 December: Semi-finals
  • December 5th: Final

How the Davis Cup works, the rules and who goes to the quarterfinals

The new Davis Cup formula provides for the eighteen national teams playing in Serie A to be divided into six groups, each of three teams. The six teams that win their respective groups go straight to the quarter-finals. To those six will be added the two best second. This will create a direct elimination scoreboard. If Italy wins their group in the quarterfinals, they will face the winner of Group D, one between Croatia and Australia.

Where to see the Davis Cup on TV and in streaming

The Davis Cup is an exclusive of SuperTennis, channel 64 of digital terrestrial and 212 of Sky. SuperTennis will broadcast the matches of Italy, the semi-finals, all the quarter-finals and the highlights of the best matches of the day.

PREV Rome transfer market, Maitland-Niles the chosen one. Almamy Touré the alternative
NEXT Betty White, the ‘Golden girl’ actress of American TV, was about to turn 100