European Championships: Poland-Slovenia & Italy-Serbia, numbers and curiosities of the semifinalists

European Championships: Poland-Slovenia & Italy-Serbia, numbers and curiosities of the semifinalists
European Championships: Poland-Slovenia & Italy-Serbia, numbers and curiosities of the semifinalists

KATOWICE – Countdown to the semifinals… Numbers and curiosities of the 4 semifinalists.

Saturday 18th September
5.30 pm, live Raisport Hd and DAZN
Poland – Slovenia

  • The Poland, after hosting Group A at the Tauron Arena in Krakow and Round of 16 in Danzika at the Ergo Arena, will host semifinals and finals in Katowice, in the “old” but always pleasant and functional Spodek Arena.
  • Poland is in its 11th consecutive appearance at the European Championships since the last time it did not participate in 1999. It won the title in the 2009 in Turkey.
  • Poland finished second in the European Championships on five occasions: 1975, 1977, 1979, 1981 and 1983. They also finished third in 1967, 2011 and 2019.
  • Poland have won eight of the nine games of the 2019 European Championships, with the only exception being a 3-1 defeat to Slovenia in the semi-finals. Of their eight wins, seven have been in three sets.
  • Poland have won all the games played so far, 5 in the first phase (3-2 to Serbia the most complicated game), 3-0 to Finland in the Round of 16, 3-0 also to Russia in the quarter-finals.
  • The Serbia it can become the first team to win two consecutive European Championships after the Italian double in 2003 and 2005. Italy also won two consecutive editions in 1993-1995. This was also done by the Soviet Union (1950-1951 and nine in a row from 1967 to 1987) and Czechoslovakia (1955-1958).
  • Serbia (including the period with the name Serbia & Montenegro) has taken the podium in 10 of the last 13 European Championships. In this review the Serbs failed to get a top three placement in 2003 (fourth), 2009 (fifth) and 2015 (seventh).
  • Serbia had started this edition of the European Championships with a streak of 10 consecutive victories after losing 3-2 to Germany in the 2017 semifinals. first phase.

Saturday 18th September
9pm, live Rai2 and DAZN

  • L’ Italy it has won six European Championships: 1989, 1993, 1995, 1999, 2003 and 2005. The only other team that has won six times is Russia (14, including 12 as the Soviet Union).
  • Italy’s sixth and most recent success at the European Championships dates back to 2005 (as co-organizer). The Azzurri defeated Russia in five sets in the final in Rome. Since then, two silvers have arrived on two occasions: 2011 (3-1 defeat to Serbia in the final in Vienna) and 2013 (3-1 defeat to Russia in the final in Copenhagen).
  • Italy has participated in 30 of the previous 31 European Championships, not participating in the second edition of the competition only in 1950.
  • Italy could remain down from the podium for the third consecutive time to a European for the second time after the negative streak in the years 1951-1989 (13 editions without podiums). In the last two editions, the Azzurri ranked fifth in 2017 and sixth in 2019.
  • Italy is the national team that ranked worst among the 4 Europeans at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games with 6th place after a 3-2 defeat against Argentina in the quarter-finals.
  • The Azzurri arrive at the Semifinals with an unblemished path. 5 wins in the group stage, success over modest Latvia in the Round of 16, full success against the more consistent Germany.
  • The Slovenia is in his ninth participation in the European Championships, the eighth in a row.
  • The Ljubljana national team has already reached the podium twice, on both occasions with silver: in 2015 and as co-organizers in 2019. On both occasions with two Italian coaches, Andrea Giani and Alberto Giuliani.
  • With the two finals lost statistically, Slovenia is the country to have played the highest number of finals for gold at the European Championships without ever winning. In the 2015 final they lost 3-0 to France and lost 3-1 to Serbia in the 2019 final.
  • Statistical curiosities
  • The only three countries to have lost two consecutive European gold finals are Italy (2011-2013), Russia (2005-2007) and the Netherlands (1993-1995).
  • Only on one occasion in the last 11 European Championships has the tournament been won by the team that played the final on the home court. It was Italy’s triumph in the 2005 event when they beat Russia 3-2 in Rome.


European Championships PolandSlovenia ItalySerbia numbers curiosities semifinalists

NEXT tomorrow in Rome Fenimprese national assembly